An application for a permit does not guarantee permit approval. An oversize or overweight permit is issued only if the travel route provides the necessary clearances and load capacity to allow the safe passage of the load. Unless specifically stated in the permit rules or on the permit, the permit vehicle must comply with all of South Dakota’s motor vehicle laws.
Permits may be obtained online using the South Dakota Automated Permitting System website at https://sdtruckinfo.sd.gov, which allows motor carriers to apply for South Dakota permits and to pay permit fees via credit card or escrow account.
Permits may also be obtained from the SDHP Permit Center by telephone at (605) 224-SEMI (7364) between 7:00 am and 7:00 pm Monday through Friday. They may also be acquired by letter or in person from any Highway Patrol District Office, Highway Patrol Trooper, or Motor Carrier Inspector. Books of permits may be purchased only from the South Dakota Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Services, 118 W. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501.
Operating Requirements for Permitted Vehicles
Permits must be carried in the permitted vehicle and must be presented to any law enforcement official upon demand. Selfissued or telephonic permits must be completely filled out by the permittee. A permit is void if a permittee violates the terms of the permit or fails to properly fill out the permit. A voided permit is the same as not having a permit.
Permitted vehicles must be covered by liability insurance in the minimum amounts of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per accident, and $100,000 property damage. The issuance of a permit does not relieve the permit holder from liability for damages caused to any person or property.
Warning Flags & Signs for Oversize Movement
Red or orange warning flags at least 18” by 18” in size must be displayed on all oversize vehicles or loads. Flags must be attached to all corners of vehicles on loads wider than 8’ 6”. Flags must be attached to all corners of any load that extends beyond the width of the hauling vehicle.
Warning signs must be displayed on all vehicles issued an oversize permit if they exceed 95 feet in length or 12 feet in width or if they will operate during nighttime hours. Nighttime operation requires reflectorized or lighted signs. Acceptable sign text includes “OVERSIZE LOAD”, “OVERSIZED LOAD”, “WIDE LOAD”, and “LONG LOAD”. One sign must be mounted on the front of the vehicle and be visible to oncoming traffic. Another sign must be mounted on the rear and be visible to traffic approaching from the rear. Signs must be at least 18” high by 84” wide and legible at 500 feet.
Escort vehicles are required for:
- vehicles wider than 16 feet traveling on the Interstate Highway System; and
- vehicles wider than 20 feet traveling on the State Highway System.
Escort vehicles must travel in front of the oversize vehicle on undivided highways and behind it on divided highways. Escort vehicles may also be required because of route limitations, traffic conditions, or unusual vehicle configurations.
Escort vehicles must:
- be licensed motor vehicles but not motorcycles;
- display a revolving amber light or two-way flashing amber lights at least 4” in diameter; and
- carry signs with wording such as “WIDE LOAD AHEAD” or “WIDE LONG LOAD” in letters at least 12” high. The sign “WIDE LOAD AHEAD” must be mounted on the front of the leading escort vehicle. The sign “WIDE LONG LOAD” must be mounted on the back of the trailing escort vehicle. Bright red or orange flags at least 12” square must be mounted on brackets or standards on each side of the signs. Signs must be covered or removed when not actually escorting a load.
Multiple escorts and flagpersons are required if the load extends more than 2 feet into the adjacent driving or passing lane or if the width of the vehicle does not allow other traffic to pass without the vehicle or the other traffic driving on the shoulder. The permit issuing authority may also require additional escorts and flagpersons.
Oversize vehicles may move at night in limited circumstances. When they do, they must meet the requirements for Warning Flags & Signs for Oversize Movement (page 42) and the following special lighting requirements:
- If the transported load projects more than 4 inches beyond the width of the vehicle, it must be marked with:
- one or more amber lamps and reflectors visible from the front and side, marking the load’s foremost edges at their outermost extremity;
- one or more red lamps and reflectors visible from the rear and side, marking the load’s rearmost edges at their outermost extremity; and
- one or more amber lamps and reflectors visible from front, side, and rear marking any portion of the of the load extending beyond its foremost and rearmost edges.
- If the transported load overhangs the rear of the vehicle by more than 4 feet, it must be marked with:
- one or more red lamps and reflectors visible from the rear and both sides, marking the rear of the load overhang, if the overhang is 2 feet wide or less; and
- one or more red lamps and reflectors visible from the rear and side, marking each rear corner of the load overhang, if the overhang is wider than 2 feet.
- If transported load overhangs the front of the vehicle by more than 3 feet, it must be marked with:
- one or more amber lamps and reflectors visible from the front and both sides, marking the front of the overhang, if the overhang is 2 feet wide or less; and
- one or more amber lamps and reflectors visible from the front and side, marking each front corner of the load overhang, if the overhang is wider than 2 feet.
Each lamp must be visible at all distances between 50 and 500 feet under clear atmospheric conditions. Each reflector must be visible at all distances between 50 and 500 feet under clear atmospheric conditions when lit by lawfully lighted headlamps.
Oversize vehicles, including vehicles with permits for more than 80,000 pounds on Interstate Highways and Longer Combination Vehicles, may move at night on Interstate Highways unless:
- an escort is required;
- vehicle width exceeds 10 feet;
- vehicle height exceeds 14 feet 6 inches;
- the vehicle is a single unit more than 45 feet long;
- the vehicle is a combination more than 110 feet long;
- the vehicle is a 2-unit combination with an individual unit more than 60 feet long; or
- the vehicle is a combination of 3 or more units with any individual unit more than 48 feet long.
Overweight permit vehicles may move at night provided they do not require an escort. No movement of oversize vehicles at night is allowed without permits issued for overlength Longer Combination Vehicles, emergency movement, or interests of national defense.
Baled Feed, Straw or Solid Waste Permit
An Extended Period permit may be purchased to haul overwidth baled feed, flax straw, or solid waste on a truck. The load may not exceed a width of 12 feet. The permit fee is $60.
Custom Harvest Fleet Permit
Permits are required for custom harvesters to operate a fleet of overwidth or overheight vehicles on the State Trunk Highway System. Under this permit, vehicles may not delay other vehicles more than five minutes. Vehicles traveling in convoys must maintain at least 500 feet of separation between vehicles. Signs, signposts, bridge clearance markers, or any other highway feature restricting the width of the traveled way may not be removed or deformed to allow the vehicle to pass. Repair to damage of these features is the responsibility of the custom harvester. A copy of the permit must be kept in the permitted vehicle. The permit fee is $60. This permit should not be confused with the Harvest Permit issued for individual vehicles.
Stack Mover Permit
Permits are required for the movement of baled or loose-stacked livestock feed on oversize truck-mounted or tractor-towed stack movers on State Trunk Highways. This permit allows the vehicle to move oversize when empty or loaded. No movement is allowed on the Interstate Highway System unless no parallel route is available.
Table 19: Stack Mover Maximum Dimensions
|Width Loaded||20 feet|
|Width Empty||Stack movers built before July 1, 1991 may move empty up to 17 feet wide|
|Width Empty||Stack movers built after June 30, 1991 may move empty up to 16 feet wide|
This permit allows for the lifting of lift axles to make turns and for slow movement on Interstate Highways. An amber strobe or revolving light is required. Flags are required on the left front and rear of the stack mover’s bed. An “OVERSIZED LOAD” sign is required for movement on Interstate Highways. The permit fee is $60.
Farm Implement Dealer Permit
An Extended Period permit may be issued to a farm implement dealer or a commercial operator of farm machinery for moving oversize vehicles or equipment over state highways. This permit is valid for overwidth loads up to 16 feet wide on Interstate Highways and up to 20 feet wide on other state highways. Loads exceeding these widths require a Single-Trip permit to allow a dealer to road-deliver a self-propelled farm implement instead of hauling it. The permit also allows some tolerance for units that are overweight on an axle or tire, provided certain conditions can be met. The permit fee is $60.
South Dakota residents engaged in custom harvesting must comply with commercial licensing laws. Vehicles licensed commercially must display on each power unit a license sufficient for the total gross weight of the vehicle and its load plus any trailer and its load.
South Dakota commercially licensed vehicles are not required to purchase trip permits, temporary commercial license, or harvest permits. Resident vehicles that are licensed non-commercially and used to commercially harvest in South Dakota must display a temporary commercial license or a harvest permit.
Pickups and service trucks carrying over 500 pounds of harvest equipment, tools, or fuel supplies must display some form of commercial license (trip permit, South Dakota commercial license plates, temporary commercial license, or a harvest permit). Passenger vehicles, mobile homes, and camper vehicles are exempt from commercial licensing.
Farmers temporarily engaged in custom harvesting are treated like any other custom harvester. However, farmers harvesting their own fields are exempt from commercial licensing.
A temporary commercial license used for harvest purposes should be displayed in the lower passenger side of the windshield, to allow for easier and quicker identification by law enforcement officers.
Nonresidents engaged in custom harvesting in South Dakota must purchase harvest permits for each grain-hauling truck, tractor, and trailer.
Passenger vehicles, empty trucks and empty pickups pulling mobile homes or camper trailers are not required to pay additional license fees. Pickups and service trucks carrying over 500 pounds of harvest equipment, tools or fuel supplies will be required to display some form of commercial license (trip permits, South Dakota commercial license plates, temporary commercial license, or a harvest permit).
Trucks loaded with or pulling combines or other harvest equipment are treated like any other loaded truck and considered according to the base license of the vehicle. Vehicles displaying a valid harvest permit are not required to purchase a trip permit for their travel into or through the state.
Any motor vehicle or trailer owned and operated by a resident, provided it is not commercially licensed, or by a non-resident harvesting agricultural products may be operated upon highways, roads, and streets of this state upon payment of a $75 fee for a harvest permit.
Harvest permits are required for vehicles used to haul agricultural products or service harvesting equipment. They are available to both foreign and South Dakota licensed harvesters. A permit is required for each truck or tractor and for each grain-hauling trailer. The harvest permit must be displayed in the lower center of the windshield.
Harvest permits may be obtained from any County Treasurer, Port of Entry, South Dakota Highway Patrol District Office, Highway Patrol Trooper, or Motor Carrier Inspector. Permits may also be obtained online at https://sdtruckinfo.sd.gov or by sending a check or money order along with a copy of the current registration for each vehicle to be permitted to Motor Carrier Services, South Dakota Highway Patrol, 118 W. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501.
Only Single-Trip permits are issued for movement of overweight vehicles on Interstate Highways.
Over 80,000 Pounds on Interstate Permit
A permit is available to allow a motor vehicle to exceed 80,000 pounds on Interstate Highways. The permit does not allow a motor vehicle to exceed its legal axle weight, legal tire weight, the weight allowed by the Bridge Weight Formula, or its commercial motor vehicle licensed weight. Except straight trucks or tractorsemitrailer combinations, vehicles may not exceed a speed of 65 miles per hour. The fee for an annual permit is $60. A $25 Single-Trip permit may be purchased in lieu of an annual permit.
Slow Movement on Interstate Permit
An Extended Period permit is available to allow the movement of a vehicle that cannot maintain a speed of 40 miles per hour on Interstate Highways. The vehicle must display flashing warning lights and must be driven as far to the right as possible. The permit is valid only when no parallel route is available. The fee for the Extended Period permit is $60. A $25 Single-Trip permit may be purchased in lieu of an Extended Period permit.
Extended Period Permits
Electric Utility Permit
An Extended Period permit may be issued to an electric utility company for the movement of overlength utility poles up to 85 feet long on a vehicle consisting of a straight-truck-trailer combination or a tractor-semitrailer combination. Poles over 85 feet long require a Single-Trip Oversize/Overweight Permit.
Vehicle movement must meet warning sign requirements for oversize loads (page 42), as well as special flagging and lighting requirements of ARSD 70:03:01:108 and rear escort requirements of ARSD 70:03:01:109. Utilities should contact South Dakota Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Services, 118 W. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501, (605) 773-4578 for more information.
The Extended Period electric utility permit is assigned to the utility company. The utility company must make a copy of the permit for each permitted vehicle, fill in the blanks for “Make of Truck”, “State”, “License No.”, and “Serial No.”, and place the copy of the permit in the vehicle. The permit fee is $60. Violation of the terms of the permit may result in revocation without a refund.
Oversize Permit—Non-divisible Loads
An Extended Period permit is available for the movement of a non-divisible oversize (but not overweight) load being hauled on a single unit or combination of two units. The loaded vehicle may not exceed a width of 14 feet 6 inches, and its side overhang may not exceed 3 feet 3 inches. Total combined front and rear overhang may not exceed 30 feet. Total length of a single unit vehicle is limited to 60 feet, including load overhang. Total length for a twounit combination is limited to 85 feet, including load overhang, and the second unit’s wheelbase may not exceed 43 feet. Additional rear overhang limitations apply based on wheelbase. The permit fee is $60.
Oversize Trailer Permit
An Extended Period permit is available for the movement of a vehicle consisting of a truck-tractor pulling a unit or components of a unit designed to haul oversize or overweight loads. The vehicle may be up to 10 feet wide and 110 feet long. Nighttime movement is allowed if the unit is only overlength. The unit must be properly signed and must not carry a load that exceeds the width of the unit in its narrowest configuration. The permit fee is $60.
Self-Propelled Equipment Permit
An Extended Period permit is available to allow the daytime movement of self-propelled equipment up to 10 feet wide and 55 feet long. The permit fee is $60.
Booster Axle Permit
This Extended Period permit allows legal movement of overweight straight trucks using a booster axle. The weight supported on any tire mounted on the booster axle cannot exceed 600 pounds per inch of tire width. The permit fee is $60.
Lift Axle or Variable Load Axle Permit
An Extended Period permit is available to allow a motor vehicle to be overweight due to the lifting of a lift axle or variable load axle while making a turn. The permit allows lifting only one axle up to 100 feet before the turn, and the axle must be lowered within 100 feet after completing the turn. The permit fee is $60 and is available from any permit issuing authority. It is not valid on Interstate Highways.
A South Dakota registered motor vehicle equipped with a lift axle or variable load axle must have the pressure control, which adjusts the weight carried on the lift axle, mounted outside the driver’s compartment, beyond the reach of anyone in the vehicle. The control to fully raise or lower the lift axle may be accessible to the driver only if it does not also function as the pressure control device.
Manufactured Home Permit
An Extended Period permit may be obtained for the movement of a manufactured home up to 16 feet wide, 15 feet high, and 80 feet long. The fee for the Extended Period permit is $60 per truck. A Single-Trip permit may be obtained to move a manufactured home that exceeds the size limits for an annual permit fee of $25. Manufactured homes 8 to 10 feet wide require a 6,000 GVW tow vehicle. Those over 10 feet but 12 feet or less wide require an 8,000 GVW tow vehicle. Those more than 12 feet but less than 18 feet wide require a 9,000 GVW tow vehicle. Manufactured homes may not be moved when winds exceed 25 miles per hour. Multiple-Trip Construction Equipment Permit A multiple-trip permit allows movement of oversize/overweight construction equipment on state highways within an area defined as a base county and counties bordering the base county. The permit is not valid on Interstate Highways.
An additional overweight fee is charged for the overweight permits. The fee is 50 cents per month for each designated county for each ton or fraction of a ton that the unit’s gross weight is over the legal weight limit. Route verification with the SDHP Permit Center is required every 30 days if the permit is used for overweight loads.
The permit fee, excluding additional overweight fees, is $5 per county per month but no more than $20 per month for all the counties in the area. The minimum total fee for the permit, including additional overweight fees, is $25.
Municipal Sludge Vehicle Permit
A permit issuing authority may issue an Extended Period oversize/overweight permit for a sludge vehicle owned and operated by a municipality. The permit is only available for vehicles purchased before July 1, 1984 and is subject to route approval by the Department of Transportation. There is no charge for the permit.
Overlength Semitrailer Permit
An Extended Period permit may be purchased to move a semitrailer over 53 feet long but not longer than 60 feet. The overall length of the tractor and semitrailer may not exceed 80 feet. Reflective tape must be applied along each side and across the rear of the trailer. Rear under-ride protection must be provided under certain conditions. Off-tracking and semitrailer rear overhang are restricted. The Extended Period permit may be purchased for a fee of $60. A Single-Trip permit may be purchased for $25.
Oversize Permits for Governmental Entities
There is no charge for permits issued to government entities including state agencies, local government subdivisions of South Dakota, foreign states and their local subdivisions, and the US Government and its agencies, departments, and divisions. Any special operating restrictions are stated on the permit.
30-Day Temporary Commercial Vehicle Permit and Single- Trip Commercial Vehicle Permit
A 30-day temporary commercial license permit or a Single-Trip permit may be purchased to obtain temporary commercial authority or to increase allowable Gross Vehicle Weight. Some other form of vehicle license must be attached to the vehicle before either permit is valid.
30-day temporary permits may be purchased from a County Treasurer’s Office, Port of Entry, online, or from any other permit issuing authority designated by the Department of Revenue. Fees vary according to vehicle weight as shown in Table 18. Single-Trip permits are available from any permit issuing authority, except the County Treasurer’s Office, at a cost of $15. For more information, contact the Department of Revenue at (605) 773-3541 or the South Dakota Highway Patrol Permit Center at (605) 773-SEMI (7364).
Single-Trip Oversize/Overweight Permit
A Single-Trip permit is available for movement of a non-divisible load that is oversize or overweight. A Single-Trip permit may also be purchased in place of any annual permit. Special restrictions— such as routing, escort requirements, speed restrictions, driving down centerline of a bridge, etc.—may be placed on oversize/ overweight movements.
No permit may be issued to allow 2-, 3-, or 4-axle motor vehicles hauling non-divisible loads to exceed 10 percent overweight. Permits may be issued to 2-, 3-, or 4-axle self-propelled or towaway equipment to be more than 10 percent overweight.
No permits may be issued for an overwidth load that exceeds the width of the narrowest axle on the trailer carrying the load by more than three times. Loads exceeding this width must be hauled on a trailer with extra-width axles or multiple line axle groups.
Movement of earthmoving equipment individually or in convoy requires a front escort vehicle. Rubber-tired road construction equipment may not exceed a speed of 20 miles per hour and if the unit bounces the speed must be reduced further. Units moving in a convoy may not be spaced closer than 500 feet or farther than 3,000 feet apart.
Oversize/overweight permits must be secured before moving the combination or entering the state. Single-Trip permits may be purchased individually or in books of ten for $25 per permit. If the vehicle exceeds 40,000 pounds on two axles, 60,000 pounds on three axles, 80,000 pounds on four axles, 85,000 pounds on five axles, 90,000 pounds on six axles, and 95,000 or more pounds on seven or more axles, an additional overweight fee is charged at a rate of two cents per ton-mile for the excess weight.
Travel at night is restricted (see Nighttime Operation on page 43 for exceptions).
Depending on the vehicle size and weight and the requested route, some permit applications require review by the Department of Transportation or the Highway Patrol. The review typically takes up to two working days, but loads that exceed 200,000 pounds, loads that are overweight and wider than 12 feet, and loads more than 16 feet high may take longer. Please allow adequate time to process the permit request.
Permit to Move to Weigh Scale
A Single-Trip permit is available to allow a motor vehicle to move to the nearest available public or private scale to determine whether the load is properly placed on the motor vehicle. Before a Single-Trip permit is requested, the operator must obtain approval from the private scale operator to weigh the vehicle and its load. A motor vehicle operator issued a permit to move to a weigh scale may not leave the scale site unless the load conforms to all legal weight limits or an overweight permit is obtained. The fee for a permit to move to a weigh scale is $25.
Emergency Declaration Permit
An Extended Period permit may be issued to a vehicle or a fleet of vehicles upon declaration of an emergency by the Governor. The vehicle may consist of one or more units that exceed size limitations and are transporting commodities to alleviate the emergency. The permit may allow movement of vehicles that are oversize but not overweight at certain times of day. Conditions and limitations depend on the type of emergency and may differ for each emergency. The permit will stipulate the conditions and duration. Emergency declaration permits are issued at no cost.
Emergency Single-Trip Oversize/Overweight Permit
A Single-Trip permit is available to allow movement of a nondivisible oversize or overweight load on any State Trunk Highway to locations of emergencies. The term “locations of emergencies” is defined as any location within the State of South Dakota where:
- the Governor of South Dakota has declared an emergency;
- conditions jeopardize the health, safety, or welfare of the residents of South Dakota;
- a hazardous material emergency exists;
- a national defense emergency exists; or
- a train derailment has occurred.
The approval of an emergency Single-Trip oversize/overweight permit is subject to all the conditions of a normal Single-Trip oversize/overweight permit except that:
- Approval is available any time during the day or night.
- To expedite the permit issuance process, permit applicants may ask the Department of Transportation to perform a special pre-trip analysis of the desired routes for known vehicle configurations. Permit applicants should contact the Department of Transportation at (605) 773-3704 for further information.
- Permit applicants requesting a special pre-trip route analysis may also request a variance from the Department of Transportation to allow the permit vehicle to operate during the spring load limit period up to the maximum axle weights normally allowed.
- An oversize permit vehicle normally restricted to movement during daylight hours may be allowed to move at night if, in addition to meeting the lighting requirements of Nighttime Operation (page 43), it is equipped with additional warning lights consisting of at least one, but not more than three flashing yellow or amber lights mounted above the roof or cab line of the permit vehicle. The lights must be visible for 500 feet in all directions. When moving at night, the permit vehicle must be accompanied by front and rear escort vehicles that meet the following requirements:
- Escort vehicles must be a passenger car or two-axle truck at least 60 inches wide. They may not be oversize or overweight and their gross vehicle weight may not exceed 12,000 pounds.
- Escort vehicles must be equipped with additional warning lights consisting of at least one, but not more than three, flashing yellow or amber lights mounted above the roof or cab line of the escort vehicles. The lights must emit a light that is visible from all directions for 500 feet.
- Escort vehicles must be equipped with an “OVERSIZE LOAD” sign that is visible to traffic approaching the front of a front escort and the rear of a rear escort. At a minimum, the sign must be 12 inches high and 60 inches wide. Letters on the sign must be 8-inch block uppercase with 1-inch stroke. The colors must be black letters on yellow background. The sign must be reflectorized and must be visible to approaching traffic from 500 feet. Other appropriate warning messages may be used in lieu of “OVERSIZE LOAD”.
- Escort vehicles must be able to maintain voice communication between the permit vehicle and escort vehicles at all times.
- The spacing between the escort vehicle and the permit vehicle should be a minimum of 500 feet and a maximum of 1000 feet. Convoy movement of multiple permit vehicles is allowed with a single front and a single rear escort vehicle.
Return trips from locations of emergencies and normally scheduled movement of defense items are not considered emergency movements and are handled as normal Single-Trip oversize/overweight permit requests, except that vehicles returning from the location of an emergency and operating under a spring load limit variance may return to their point of origin or other approved location.
Longer Combination Vehicle Permit
The Longer Combination Vehicle (LCV) permit allows specific vehicle combinations to operate on Interstate Highways and other specified State Highways at lengths up to 110 feet (except for Truck-Trailer combinations, which are limited to 85 feet) and at weights up to 129,000 pounds. Permits are only available in books of ten, at a cost of $100 per book, from the South Dakota Highway Patrol, Motor Carrier Services, 118 W. Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501 (605) 773-4578.
Authorized combinations include:
Table 21: LCV Combination Length Limits
|Combination||Semitrailer/Trailer Maximum Length||Total Vehicle Maximum Length|
|Tractor-Semitrailer-Semitrailer||48 feet||110 feet|
|Tractor-Semitrailer-Trailer||48 feet||110 feet|
|Tractor-Semitrailer-Semitrailer-Semitrailer||28.5 feet||110 feet|
|Tractor-Semitrailer-Trailer-Trailer||28.5 feet||110 feet|
|Truck-Trailer||48 feet||85 feet|
Tractors and trucks may not exceed 45 feet. A semitrailer or trailer may not be longer than the trailer located immediately ahead of it.
The LCV may not exceed a gross weight of 129,000 pounds, 20,000 pounds on a single axle, 34,000 pounds on a tandem axle or the weight as allowed by the Bridge Weight Formula on any axle group combinations. The weight on a steering axle may not exceed 600 pounds per inch width of tire, and the weight on all other axles may not exceed 500 pounds per inch width of tire. All axles except the steering axle must be equipped with four tires. A semitrailer or trailer may not weigh 3,000 pounds more than the trailer immediately ahead of it. Lift axles and belly axles are not considered load-carrying axles and do not count when determining the vehicle’s weight limits. Axles that are spaced eight feet or less apart must weigh within 500 pounds of each other.
The LCV’s calculated off-tracking may not exceed 8.75 feet for a turning radius of 161 feet, as calculated by the formula:
where TR is the specified turning radius (161 feet) and L1 through L5 are measured as shown in Figure 5. Table 22 can be used to calculate off-tracking.
Table 22: Off-tracking Calculation Procedure
|1||L1 = _______.____ feet|
|2||L2 = _______.____ feet|
|3||L3 = _______.____ feet|
|4||L4= _______.____ feet|
|5||L5 = _______.____ feet|
|6||L1 x L1 = _______.____|
|7||L2 x L2 = _______.____|
|8||L4 x L4 = _______.____|
|9||L5 x L5 = _______.____|
|10||161 x 161 = 25921.00|
|11||L3 x L3 = _______.____|
|12||Add (10) + (11)|
|13||Add (6) + (7) + (8) + (9)|
|14||Subtract (13) from (12)|
|15||Turning Radius = 161|
|16||Square root of (14)|
|17||Off-tracking = (15) – (16)|
L1 through L5 must be expressed as decimal feet, not feet and inches. Table 23 shows conversions from inches to decimal feet.
Table 23: Inches to Decimal Feet Conversion
For an LCV with one or more trailers that are 45 feet or longer, all dimensions used to calculate the off-tracking must be written in the “Permit Restrictions” area of the Special Permit along with the off-tracking value derived from the calculation.
The LCV’s semitrailer or trailer hitch offset (which is the L3 measurement) may not exceed 6 feet. The hitch offset is the longitudinal distance from the turn center of the semitrailer’s or trailer’s rear axle group to the center of the hitching mechanism at the rear of that trailer.
The power unit pulling any LCV must have sufficient horsepower to maintain a minimum speed of 40 miles per hour pulling fully loaded trailers. LCVs may not exceed 65 miles per hour while operating on Interstate Highways or 55 miles per hour while operating on other highways.
The rear trailer of an LCV must have a sign that states “LONG LOAD” at least 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The color of the sign must be black letters on a yellow background. Lettering must be at least 10 inches high with a 1.41-inch brush stroke.
An LCV may not be operated when:
- road surfaces, because of rain, ice, snow, slush, or frost, present a slippery condition that may be hazardous to the operation of the LCV or other highway users;
- wind, weather, or equipment conditions cause part of the LCV to swerve, shift, sway, or fail to follow within one foot of the path of the power unit, excluding low speed offtracking; or
- snow, ice, sleet, fog, mist, rain, dust or smoke reduce visibility.
LCVs may travel on the Interstate System and must enter and exit the Interstate System only on routes approved by the Department of Transportation. LCVs may also travel on the routes listed in Table 24.
The annual or 30-day commercial license fees must be paid to cover the LCV’s maximum gross weight before the permit is used.
The permit holder of an LCV permit must complete and sign the permit form and send the duplicate copy of the permit to the South Dakota Highway Patrol before beginning the trip. Each permit is valid for the duration of one trip or 24 hours, whichever occurs first. The original signed permit must be carried in the LCV throughout the trip.
The term “trip” is defined as reaching the first location where a tractor change is made to the LCV or the first location where the LCV reverses its direction and begins the return to its point of origin, whichever occurs first. A round trip requires two permits. When a trailer change is made during a trip, the permit must be changed to identify the trailer change made.
Table 24: South Dakota LCV Routes
|US12||from the North Dakota border to I-29|
|US14||from US83 in Fort Pierre to US14B in Pierre|
|US14||from US14B on the north side of Pierre to US14B on the west side of Brookings|
|US14B||from US14 in Pierre to US14 on the north side of Pierre|
|US14B||from US14 on the west side of Brookings to I-29|
|US16B||from SD79 on the south side of Rapid City to I-90|
|US18||from the intersection with University Avenue on the west side of Hot Springs to the intersection of US18 and US385 at Oelrichs|
|SD34||from SD37 west of Forestburg to SD37 east of Forestburg|
|SD37||from I-90 in Mitchell to SD34 east of Forestburg|
|SD37||from SD34 west of Forestburg to US14 at Huron|
|SD50||from I-29 to SD50 and Burleigh Street in eastern Yankton|
|SD79||from US18 north of Oelrichs to US16B on the south side of Rapid City|
|US83||from I-90 near Vivian to US14 in Fort Pierre|
|US83||from US14 east of Pierre to US212 west of Gettysburg|
|US83||from US212 west of Gettysburg to US12 south of Selby|
|US83||from US12 west of Selby to the North Dakota border|
|US85||from I-90 at Spearfish to the North Dakota Border|
|US212||from the Wyoming border to US85 in Belle Fourche|
|US212||between the two intersections with US83 west of Gettysburg|
|US212||between the two intersections with US281 in Redfield|
|US281||from I-90 to US14 south of Wolsey|
|US281||from US14 north of Wolsey to US212 in Redfield|
|US281||from US212 in Redfield to the North Dakota border|